Accommodations in Tuscany

 Home Page
 • Abruzzo 
 • Aosta Valley 
 • Apulia 
 • Basilicata 
 • Calabria 
 • Campania 
 • Emilia-Romagna 
 • Friuli-Venezia Giulia 
 • Lazio 
 • Liguria 
 • Lombardy 
 • Marche 
 • Molise 
 • Piedmont 
 • Sardinia 
 • Sicily 
 • Trentino-Alto Adige 
 • Tuscany 
 • Umbria 
 • Veneto 
 • Latest Entries  
 • Imprint  
» Tuscany

Provinces in the region Tuscany

  • Arezzo
  • Florence
  • Grosseto
  • Livorno
  • Lucca
  • Massa Carrara
  • Pisa
  • Pistoia
  • Prato
  • Siena
Places of interest Tuscany

Tourist information Tuscany

The region of Tuscany is located in central Italy and borders with Emilia Romagna to the north, east with the Marches and Umbria and Lazio to the south, to the west is washed for about 400 km from the Ligurian Sea and north-west with Liguria. The provinces are: Arezzo, the regional capital Florence, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa and Carrara, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena. The territory of the region is mostly mountainous plains and mountain ranges but are not lacking. Among the most important mountains are the Monte Prado (2054 meters), the Jaufen (1991 meters) and Mount Pisanino (1946 meters). There are also some of the crossings and mountain passes like Passo Abetone or the Passo delle Radici, speaking of rivers among the most important we name the Arno (241 km) and the Ombrone (161 km), while the lakes that natural with the greatest extension surface is Lake Chiusi (3.9 sq km). In addition to having the opportunity to offer wonderful natural landscapes, Tuscany is a region rich in history, art and wonderful monuments. One of the provinces of the region is Arezzo which is crossed by the Arno and includes Mount Falcon (1658 meters). The regional capital Florence is one of the provinces most visited in the world, the city of fashion and the cradle of art, it is literally divided by the River Arno and seven bridges allow you to join the two parts, the oldest and most famous is the Ponte Vecchio. Another is Grosseto province in which there are the Metalliferous Hills, the Maremma plains, rivers and lakes type torrential mainly small in size. Are part of the province of Livorno islands: Capraia Isola d'Elba, Gorgona, Montecristo and Pianosa. In addition to another province of Tuscany is Lucca and Massa Carrara on which the presence of the Alps and in particular Pisanino mountain (1946 meters) allow the extraction of the famous Carrara marble. Pisa is known worldwide thanks to the eponymous tower Piazza del Duomo in the city has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. In Pistoia, another province, there are still intact environments where the flora and fauna preserved in numerous protected areas become a beautiful landscape to visit for the tourist. Both Prato and Siena are the remaining provinces of Tuscany and in the latter there are eleven nature reserves who care to ensure the natural heritage of the province is the largest nature reserve Alto Merese.

© 2013 Italia-Turismo S.r.l.
© 2009-2015
Italia Turismo S.r.l.