Accommodations in Piedmont

 Home Page
 • Abruzzo 
 • Aosta Valley 
 • Apulia 
 • Basilicata 
 • Calabria 
 • Campania 
 • Emilia-Romagna 
 • Friuli-Venezia Giulia 
 • Lazio 
 • Liguria 
 • Lombardy 
 • Marche 
 • Molise 
 • Piedmont 
 • Sardinia 
 • Sicily 
 • Trentino-Alto Adige 
 • Tuscany 
 • Umbria 
 • Veneto 
 • Latest Entries  
 • Imprint  
» Piedmont

Provinces in the region Piedmont

  • Alessandria
  • Asti
  • Biella
  • Cuneo
  • Novara
  • Turin
  • Verbano-Cusio-Ossola
  • Vercelli
Places of interest Piedmont

Tourist information Piedmont

The Piedmont region is located in the north west and is bordered to the north by Switzerland and the Aosta Valley, to the east by Lombardy and to the south the Emilia-Romagna and Liguria. Includes eight provinces: Alessandria, Asti, Biella, Cuneo, Novara, Verbania Ossola, Vercelli and Turin, the capital. Its territory is of Alpine and Apennine hills. It is surrounded by the Western Alps and the Ligurian Alps, the highest peaks are the Punta Norden (above 4000 m) and the Gran Sasso, there are also peaks over 3,000 meters such as the Monviso and the Rocciamelone. There are dams and hydroelectric plants and is mainly crossed by the Po (the longest in Italy) who was born in the province of Cuneo. The latter is the symbol of Piedmont, with its beautiful unspoiled landscapes, in the Alps of the Hautes Alpes Maritimes and the rivers create valleys such as the Po Another Alessandria province is where there is the expanse of hills Monferrato which are crossed by the Po and the Tanaro. In Val di Borbera are many mountains such as Mount Chiappo and Mount Ebro, both of 1,700 meters. The main rivers are the Po, Bormida Spigno, and Erro. Asti, Piedmont Province, is mainly an agricultural area thanks to the vineyards, and well known in the world are in fact the wines of Monferrato. Biella instead is surrounded to the north by the Biella Alps, whose highest peak is Mount Bo (2500 meters). The Oropa, Cervo or Elvo are the main rivers that cross it, the Burcina park or the Special Natural Reserve of Sacro Monte of Oropa are two of the three protected areas. The province of Novara also known as "the sweet earth" is between the rivers Sesia and Ticino, its soil is particularly flat because of rice that has irrevocably changed the natural environment. In the province of Verbano-VB there is the Lake Maggiore area of ??considerable ecological importance. Vercelli instead is a good tourist attraction thanks to the presence of the Sacred Mountain of Varallo, who with six other sacred mountains, was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The capital of Piedmont is Turin in which there are the Hautes Alpes, the Alps Graie and the Pennine Alps.

© 2013 Italia-Turismo S.r.l.
© 2009-2015
Italia Turismo S.r.l.